Tags

, , , , , ,

The image below is the decorative binding of Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey, a book in my personal collection, published by Blackie & Sons, undated, but circa 1902-3 [inscription reads 1902; Gilson refers to this edition at E81], with a frontispiece illustration by Paul Hardy.  This title is in Blackie’s series “Library of Famous Books for Boys and Girls,” crown 8vo, cloth elegant.

I had posted this cover on my Jane Austen in Vermont blog because I was asked about the illustrator; I was explaining that I had purchased this particular copy of Northanger Abbey because of the lovely Art Nouveau binding.  From there, I received a number of comments as to the cover artist.  There was some discussion that Talwin Morris of Glasgow, known for his work for Blackie, was the designer, but further research and discussion leads me to believe he did not do the desgn, though certainly the lettering is in his style.

So I put this out to there to see if anyone has thoughts or information on the designer of this cover.  I appreciate any help! 

na-art-nouveaucover2

